Drew Smith President of Two Trails Green Building Consulting Appointed President of Building Industry Association of Manatee Sarasota

Drew BIA
Drew BIA

The Manatee Sarasota Building Industry Association held their Installation of officers meeting on November 13, 2013 at the Sarasota Polo Clubhouse.  At which time Drew Smith President of Two Trails Green Building Consulting was appointed the 2013 President of the association. Drew Smith started out over 15 years ago to change the methodology of conventional building science. Drew realized that the only way to change the industry was to become the resource for the knowledge on how to implement healthy, sustainable projects. He “hung up his hammer” and opened one of the first green building consulting firms in the nation. 

In the years to follow his firm has become one of the nations premier green building consulting firms.  Following his mission statement when he started his consulting firm he dedicates countless hours to better the industry that he is passionate about.  Drew has proven not only to be a valuable resource, but a leader that truly cares about the industry and be a voice that will help lead the building industry to safe, efficient, and logical choices for the future.  Drew is honored to be appointed to President of the Building Industry Association of Manatee/Sarasota.  Drew’s goal is to increase cross member participation between trades and encourage members to look to each other for opportunities to work with each other on projects.   This appointment is his latest industry involvement.  Below are his other current industry positions.

Florida Building Commissioner – Representing the Green Building Industry

Florida Building Commission – Chair – Energy Technical Advisory Committee

NAHB – Board of Directors

NAHB – Energy and Green Building Committee

NAHB – Design Committee

FHBA – Board of Directors

FHBA – Chair - Green & Remodelers Council

FHBA – Area VI Builder V.P.

USGBC – Board Member – Tampa Bay Chapter

Building Industry Association of Manatee Sarasota – President